The Hunger Games trilogy

Hunger Games trilogy jacket covers

The Hunger Games Trilogy

The Hunger Games
ISBN: 978-0439023528
Price: $8.99

Catching Fire
ISBN: 978-0439023535
Price: $8.99

ISBN: 978-0439023511
Price: $17.99

Engrossing, perfectly paced and brilliantly plotted, the "Hunger Games" trilogy by Suzanne Collins is more than just another futuristic action series for the teenage reader. Collins' characters are realistic and sympathetic as they form alliances and friendships in the face of overwhelming odds. Big ideas, from the injustice of a few people living in comfort while the rest of the world goes hungry to the priority placed on entertainment in a society where many do without necessities, are explored amidst a thrilling adventure that will appeal to science fiction, survival and adventure readers.

The books raise and examine a host of philosophical and moral issues surrounding government control, warfare and senseless violence more commonly associated with more adult novels. However, Collins deals with them in a way that encourages young people to ponder the decisions made by others that affect their own lives. The books are generally considered suitable for readers 12 and up but it will depend on the particular 12 or 13-year old. For older children who like action-packed suspense, these books will keep them glued to the page long after bedtime!  Even many adults (like me) couldn't put them down.